Roaming the lands: Munich, Germany

Firstly, I have to tell you, when I opened Wiki to refresh myself before writing this, I got swarmed with information. SWARMED. Then I seemed to have forgotten what colour I usually write my text in and had to spend almost a minute trying to figure out how to go back to normal text after I changed the colour and made my text bold for that “swarmed” thing. 

Anyway, I was SWARMED by the amount of attractions Munich have to offer. Looking back, my friends and I hardly made a dent on Munich… it is kind of sad but I feel we didn’t seem to go anywhere worthwhile (read: cool) while we were there.

In my opinion, Germany has one of the best, user-friendly train systems I have ever seen. Buying tickets with the self-machine (auto-machine? Whatever) was a breeze, there were quite a lot of packages available too, and if you have trouble there are always people around who speaks English and can help out.

We were effectively only there for a day, and spent most of it in the City Center. We went by several places of interest. At the center of the city is Marienplatz, a large square containing both the old town hall (Altes Rathaus) and the new one (Neues Rathaus).

Raj at the Ohel Jakob Synagogue

Raj at the Ohel Jakob Synagogue

Peterskirche, the oldest church in the inner city

Peterskirche, the oldest church in the inner city

Neues Rathaus, the new city hall

Neues Rathaus, the new city hall

We then took a short walk through a part of Hofgarten, a park not too far from Marienplatz. There are many parks in Munich, and this one was very nice; not too crowded and clean. Given my love for pointless walking and my fondness for autumn, I definitely enjoyed the stroll. There are several interesting things to look for in this park, but I only passed the Bayerische Staatskanzlei, the Bavarian State Chancellery.

Bayerische Staatskanzlei

Bayerische Staatskanzlei

We also walked through Odeonsplatz, which hosts Residenz, Feldherrnhalle and Theatinerkirche. Seemingly high-class shops and restaurants are also scattered here, and we stopped by a Mercedes Benz gallery, which was nice but not big enough to hold our attention for long, so we went to see Siegestor, a grand arch dedicated to the Bavarian army.

Siegestor

Siegestor

There are a number of museums and galleries that are worth a visit if you’re interested, for instance we passed by Museum Brandhorst, but it wasn’t something our ignorant minds were attracted to. Well, not mine anyway. Not sure if I can say the same for my friends. Our last stop in the daylight was to Königsplatz, containing the Glyptothek and Staatliche Antikensammlungen museums (tongue twisted yet?), as well as the city gate, Propylea.

Watip in front of Glyptothek

Watip in front of Glyptothek

That night we trudged (oh alright we took the train) to the Allianz Arena, a football stadium, the first in the world to have full colour-changing exterior. Not being a football fan, this was what interested me the most. The stadium is lit in red when Bayern Munich plays, blue when 1860 Munich plays and white when the German national team plays. We were patient throughout waiting for the first two colours: red and white, but we were too tired for the last and so I only took the stadium in blue at the train station.

Allianz Arena in white

Allianz Arena in white

Allianz Arena in red

Allianz Arena in red

Allianz Arena in blue

Allianz Arena in blue

If you were to look up what to see or do in Munich, you’ll see that we hardly saw anything here. BMW World is one of the attractions I really wish I visited. Perhaps we should have spent longer here. Hopefully I will get another opportunity to rectify this mistake!

Leave a Reply

